Skip to content

2 steps forward, 12 months back!! Grr!

October 23, 2009

The original title of my post was going to be “Baby Bean likes chocolate cake, that’s my girl!”.  Last week whilst out to lunch with a good friend of mine Baby Bean showed interest in my chocolate muffin so I gave her a little bit to try, she seemed to like it so I gave her a bit more, and a bit more and a bit more until she had eaten half of my muffin!!  Later in the day she also ate a whole gingerbread man and I felt like all my prayers had been answered, finally something had “clicked” inside her and she waas ready to eat “real” food!  Ok so it wasn’t quite the 5-a-day fruit and veg that I was hoping she would go for but it was a start!

 

So that’s the 2 steps forward but what about the 12 months back I hear you say?  Since Baby Bean was about 6 months she has only eaten stage 1 jars of baby food but all of a sudden she is refusing everything.  All the foods that up to now have been my guaranteed “she will eat this, its her favourite” are now being refused or spat back at me.  I think this is probably because she is bored of it, she has eaten only 6 or 7 savoury flavours and 10 desserts, rotated twice a day, every day for almost 12 months.  But now I’m at a total loss as to where to go with her meals.  Baby Beans average daily food intake now consists of weetabix, yoghurt and 3oz of cows milk for breakfast, a jar of rice pudding or porridge followed by a jar of dessert for dinner AND tea.  She will sometimes chew on a dried apricot or raisin but that’s as far as it goes.  She drinks only milk – she won’t touch water, squash or fruit juice.  To say that it’s getting me down is an understatement, I’m at my wit’s end every meal time.  I sit and watch my friend’s children with envy as they eat everything that is put in front of them and wonder what I have done wrong.

 

If there is anyone else out there who is going through this or has been through this and their child now eats PLEASE contact me and let me know if there is a light at the end of the tunnel!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

