Skip to content

REVIEW: Very Lazy Garlic

March 25, 2010

Recently I was provided with a sample jar of Very Lazy Garlic to review for LetsGabba.com.  Now anyone who knows me will know that I’m not a fan of spending time in the kitchen.  I’m kind of “Can Cook, Won’t Cook” – I just don’t enjoy it.  But I decided that I would give this a try and see how it went.  So I waited until I had the opportunity to have a few friends around for dinner and gave Hubby the night off whilst I prepared a feast.

lazygarlic I didn’t want to just go for the easiest meal I could so I searched on the World Wide Web for Garlic Recipes and decided on not one, but two courses in which to try out my Very Lazy Garlic.  The Recipes I used are to be found at the end of my post.  There were going to be no vampires anywhere near me or my guests that night, it was guaranteed!

So for a starter I prepared a Garlic Dip to accompany the warm Ciabatta Bread and sliced carrots and cucumber fingers (they probably have a posh name, but I’m definitely not POSH!).  I have to say I was very impressed with this even if I do say so myself and I think my guests were in a state of shock.

Then for the main course we had Chicken Breasts stuffed with Garlic Mushrooms.  I chose this recipe because it was described as such:-

If you love both garlic mushrooms and garlic chicken then this recipe’s for you, its a great tasting recipe that is a lot easier to prepare than it looks!

Yes it was the “easy to prepare” bit which sold it! 

This was a gorgeous dish which went down really well and just as the recipe said, it was really easy to prepare.

The Very Lazy Garlic was a dream to use, no messing around with garlic presses which basically just end up with a big mushy mess, no stinky hands from peeling and preparing fresh garlic.  Just a simple teaspoon into a jar and hey presto the garlic was added.  According to the instructions on the Very Lazy Garlic jar, 1 teaspoon is the equivalent of 1 clove of garlic so you just add it according to your taste buds!  The garlic has been pre-crushed and stored in white wine vinegar which evaporates in the cooking process.  The aroma is just as you would expect of fresh garlic but obviously much more hassle free.  I wouldn’t say that I have been converted to cooking but when I do decide to give Hubby a night off or want to impress the cynics who think I can’t cook, I would definitely keep a jar of this in the cupboard to aid my meal.  If you haven’t tried it yet and you’re a garlic lover then really you should.  Its inexpensive with prices ranging around £1.50 to £2.50 price tag and the jar will last you a while.

Recipes

Garlic Dip

2 teaspoons Very Lazy Garlic

1/2 cup of butter, softened

1 tablespoon of Olive Oil

Snipped parsley

 

Place the Garlic, Butter and Olive Oil into a blender and blend until smooth.  Garnish with the parsley and serve.

 

Chicken Breasts stuffed with Garlic Mushrooms (Serves 2)

2 large chicken breasts

4oz (120gm) mushrooms

1/2 oz (15gm) butter

2 teaspoons Very Lazy Garlic (or less according to personal taste)

1/2 oz (15gm) breadcrumbs

Handful of fresh parsley, chopped

Handful of fresh coriander leaves, chopped

Salt & pepper

 

Preparation

Wash the mushrooms then chop small. It’ll look as if you’ve got enough to feed an army but don’t worry, they’ll reduce down.

Melt the butter in a pan, add the garlic and cook gently for a few seconds, then add the mushrooms and stir well. Cook over a medium heat for about ten minutes, stirring occasionally.

At first the mushrooms will release a lot of liquid, most of this will evaporate away in the latter half of the cooking.

Whilst the mushrooms are cooking, pre-heat the oven to 200C (400F).

Stir the herbs into the garlic mushrooms and season with a little salt and a generous helping of freshly ground black pepper. Add the breadcrumbs to soak up the remaining liquid. Mix together to form a paste – the stuffing. Remove from the heat and leave to cool.

Cut a deep slit in each chicken breast and insert half the garlic mushroom stuffing into each one. Use a couple of cocktail sticks to close the chicken up, fold the ends over the top and use another cocktail stick or two to close the parcel up.

Transfer the garlic mushroom stuffed chicken parcels to an ovenproof dish, the slit side uppermost. Cook for about 25 mins or until the chicken is properly done.

Serve the garlic mushroom chicken either with traditional potatoes and vegetables or on a bed of lightly spiced rice. Remember to remove the cocktail sticks before serving!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 11:33 pm

    Can’t wait for the invite to your next dinner party! 😉

    • March 26, 2010 8:54 pm

      Well they don’t happen very often but I will make sure you’re invited when I finally do the next one! 😉

  2. nannylyn permalink
    March 29, 2010 6:36 pm

    Have now bought Lazy Garlic and really enjoyed it in today’s menu. I shall use it from now on, sooooo hassle free and no garlicky fingers!

Leave a Reply

