Skip to content

On the move . . . . .

April 4, 2010

I am so excited at the prospect of moving to our new/new house but as they haven’t even started building it yet, we’ve still got a long way to go. However, our current house is already sold and the buyers are keen to get moved in so we need to move out!

We have found somewhere lovely to rent until our house is ready but moving house once is bad enough, never mind twice in 6 months!! I think we’re due to leave here sometime in the next 5 weeks so at some point we need to think about packing our belongings but seriously where do you start? And when you have small children around, when do you find the time?!?! I’m normally a super-organised person but this time I’m flummoxed!! Maybe its because I’m pregnant and have a limited attention span but I just can’t seem to get into the flow of it all.

Can anyone give me some good advice on how to tackle my packing? How do you do it? Randomly or with lists?

Because we are moving twice in such a short period I’m not intending on unpacking everything in the rental house, I want to lie as minimalistic as possible!!

Come on readers, I’m counting on you!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 7:11 pm

    Whenver I have moved I just pack. My organisation comes down to making sure things are packed in rooms. So no matter where it was, it is packed in a box for the room it is going to. I would also break that down in your case to then splitting the boxes for each room to those you will want to unpack in the rental and those you won’t. That way when you get to the other end you don’t find yourself repacking things. If your anything like I would be though, you will probably not unpack much at the rental!! Good luck and if you need to get away and I am about just give me a shout xx

  2. April 6, 2010 8:30 am

    Hi Bina
    Sounds like you’re going to have a busy time but I’m sure it will be worth it. We’re also moving in approx 6 wks time, so I’m busy boxing up stuff we don’t really use right now – but like you said, its hard work when you have a toddler getting everthing out of the box again..arrhh..!! Good luck. x

    • April 14, 2010 8:28 pm

      I didn’t realise you were on the move too, I’ve had a few odd days where I’ve felt totally motivated and got loads of packing done – then that’s me done for a few days until the motivation kicks in again. Good luck with your move – this isn’t the BIG move is it?

  3. April 15, 2010 6:19 am

    yup its the BIG move…!! well hopefully, we are currently having a few issues with the new mortgage but if all goes through smoothly we’ll be off ‘up north’ quite soon. Hope to see you and everyone before we go – hope things are good with you.

    • April 15, 2010 7:14 pm

      Oooh blimey, didn’t think that was happening for a few years. Must definitely arrange a get together before you go xx

Leave a Reply

