Skip to content

Countdown to the 20 wk scan!!

April 26, 2010

I’m sooooo excited, next Tuesday we will be going to the mat unit to see our little wriggler and find out who’s cooking in there!  We never wanted to find out with Little Bean whether she was a girl or a boy as we wanted to keep it a surprise for the birth.  This time however, we feel the need to be a little more organised what with moving house and having about 13 boxes of girlie pink clothes in the loft.  Obviously if we have a blue bump brewing then we can dispense with the mountains of pink which I have hoarded.

Over the course of this pregnancy I have done the “ring test” and every time the ring has swung in circles which as far as I’m aware means bump is pink but everyone I know thinks I’m having a boy.  In all honesty I shall be happy whichever sex baby is because at the end of the day its the baby that matters, not whether its a girl or a boy.  Each one would have its own merits, Curly would really like a baby brother (as you may have guessed by the number of names he has picked for a boy versus a girl!).  He loves having his sister but I think he would like “something different” this time.  I also wonder whether he worries that he might get left out if its another girl?!?!? 

I admit that when I was pregnant with Little Bean I wanted a little girl because I wanted to give my Hubby the one thing that he didn’t already have.  I also relished the idea of having the same relationship with my daughter as I have with my Mum.  And hopefully this will carry on blossoming but she is a Daddy’s girl too, and I love to see this but I do sometimes have days where I think it would be nice to have a “Mummy’s boy”.  Does this make sense?  I’m very proud of my daughter and the little person she is growing into even if she does drive me mad sometimes with her stubbornness and strong will, but at the same time these are the attributes that I admire in her.  She reminds me of “me”.  She knows what she wants and will stop at nothing to get it but some days when I speak to other mothers and they tell me how easy going their boys are I’m a little jealous.  The thing is I’ve always said that I like a challenge!!!

We asked Little Bean if she wanted a brother or a sister and I was really surprised when she said “sister” as to me she always seems to prefer boys.  But then we asked her if she wanted a boy sister, or a girl sister and she said – yes you’ve guessed it – a boy sister!  Well that makes things a little clearer.

Hubby thinks it would be nice to have another little girl, especially with being so close in age to Little Bean but honestly I don’t think it matters.  One thing is for sure though, we will ALL love the little wriggler no matter who they are and next week will hopefully give us the answer to that burning question!

So tell me your thoughts, why would you prefer boys or girls?

 

 

Picture credits:

www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-scientific-f…

sonogram2.html

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 12:56 pm

    Oh no no no not all your friends think your having a boy, I have thought from the start you are having a girl and still do. Now I used to be spot on with my guesses until having my own kids and I have been wrong (including with both my own), so I am prepared to hear the opposite next week, but I still think it’s a girl!!!
    And I know exactly what you mean about also wanting a boy, I was the same esp. when my pregnancy with H was sooooo different to with B, I was convinced she was a boy but no, and to be honest I couldn’t imaging her being a boy now, I love my 2 pink and girly girls lol!!! Can’t wait to get the text from you!!!

    • April 26, 2010 3:40 pm

      You shall be one of the first to know!! I change my mind daily on who I think my stowaway is!!

  2. April 26, 2010 4:44 pm

    hopefully you’ll going to have a baby boy! Congratulations on your pregnancy.

  3. April 27, 2010 9:24 pm

    Congratulations on your pregnancy. How exciting, I was so excited about finding out about Baba. I couldn’t wait to know! Great blog by the way! xx

    • April 28, 2010 9:31 am

      Thank you! I’m getting really excited now – did two online gender tests yesterday, one said boy, one said girl! Well it should definitely be one or the other!

Leave a Reply

