Skip to content

Double buggy recommendations please?

June 17, 2010

Me and Hubby are going around the bend trying to find the right double buggy for us.  We have a 2 year old toddler and a new baby due in September.  We have looked everywhere we can possibly think of at buggies but just feel flummoxed by what we actually want/need.

After speaking to my friend who has twins and uses an Out and About three wheeler I was pretty set on having one of those.  Off we trotted to the shops and spoke to the advisor who said that she wouldn’t recommend this for a toddler and baby because our toddler would soon be resisting the pushchair in favour of walking and then we would be left with a useless second seat.  She has suggested that we go for an inline buggy that can convert from one to two, to one again but I’m confused by the choices available.  What folds up small, which is light to push, do I have to keep blowing the tyres up – questions, questions, questions!?!?!?

We have been looking at the Phil & Ted’s Vibe as this appears to be the only one where you can adjust the height of the toddler seat so that they don’t have their head in the canopy but I don’t know if any others do this.

We have also seen the O’Baby Sport Double which looks pretty cool but i’ve not heard enough about this brand to know if its any good and whether it will last.  I like the City Jogger Doubles but again it’s a tandem so how long will I actually use it for???

We want something with a decent shopping basket, full lay down facility for baby from birth and yet still funky looking but they are so expensive and money is on the tight side.  We have been car booting and ebaying like crazy to raise as much funds as we can but I don’t want to just go out and buy the first pushchair I see as I am bound to regret it shortly after.  There really is a lack of information out there for people with toddlers and babies I’ve found – unless I’m looking in the wrong place?!?!

How did you decide on the right buggy for you?  Do you know of anywhere out there that you can “test-drive” buggies to make sure that you are getting the right one for you, because lets face it they are NOT cheap!?!?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 11:39 am

    I managed with the single buggy and carried my new baby in a sling at first. Then I got a buggy board for the existing buggy. I can also balance FP on the handlebars (prob not recommended but it works for us!).
    Also, I got my buggy for £35 on e-bay and it’s still going strong 3 years later!

    • July 5, 2010 10:24 am

      I have been thinking about doing this as I used a Close Baby Sling with Little Bean initially but it all depends on how quickly the little man grows and how long my back holds out! I will sort something, eventually!!!

Leave a Reply

