Skip to content

Just sleep!

July 25, 2010

This is a first for me, I’m blogging on the move as we wind our way home from a lovely weekend away. I’m able to blog courtesy of Three Mobile Buzz who have loaned me a MiFi to trial.

I’m blogging now because I want to escape into a world where all is peaceful, where I don’t feel like I want to commit myself to an asylum before I go completely mad.

If you’re a parent then you have surely been here? You have a child in the rear seat who is sooo tired they just don’t know what to do with themselves, they probably know that sleep would be a good idea but they just don’t want to admit that you were right. So instead they sing (badly), they cry, scream, kick the back of your chair, scream, moan, throw their toys at you and did I mention scream?

I’d like to introduce you to my daughter Little Bean. She is two years old and right from being a baby has not been the text book child who when placed in a pram, pushchair or car seat falls asleep the minute it moves. She has always been far too nosey and worried that sleeping means she will miss something! Some days I find it amusing, today is not one of those days. She is never great at sleeping away from home – so the tiredness coupled with not eating properly because she would rather play with her cousins and the dog than do something as boring as eating means we have one EXTREMELY grumpy child and one very tired and drained mummy.

How do you cope on long journeys? We have a DVD player for when we’re getting desperate (we have stopped as I write to set it up – we are that desperate).

Curly is the polar opposite to Little Bean, within 5 minutes of being in the car he will be doing his best nodding dog impression! He is nearly 9 years old and has always been the same, bliss!

Ok time to hit the road again, wish me luck!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 8:55 pm

    Hahaha, I remember Curly falling asleep on one of our coach trips last summer – and H is the same as Little Bean by sounds of it – hope your journey didnt drag too much!

    • July 26, 2010 11:17 am

      Don’t they just drive you mad like that! She still didn’t go to sleep until nearly 9pm last night when we got home. I think she had got herself so wound up she didn’t know how to come down again!

  2. July 27, 2010 12:58 pm

    Generally Baba is like Curly just sleeps, but occasionally he just stays awake whatever and it is so hard although we have learnt if we play music quite loud, give him a pile of muslins, and I am talking four to seven off them and his dummy he will eventually drop off after screaming and kicking! xx

    • July 27, 2010 8:47 pm

      I like the idea of lots of muslins, we normally give her a dummy and a blankie but she is forever dropping them and I get fed up of passing it back – perhaps if I give her loads she will at least end up with one! I play music all the time but she’s like her mummy and likes dance music which doesn’t send her to sleep. If I do happen to play her Baby Classical CD which she sleeps to at home, its almost as if she thinks “I WILL not go to sleep just because you have put this music on!”. Little monkey!! Thank you for dropping by xx

Leave a Reply

