Skip to content

Weetabix Chocolate – Review

July 27, 2010

Its a household name, its been around for years – my Mum said all she could get me to eat when I was little was Weetabix and Cucumber (though obviously not together – at least I don’t think so?).

Now the clever people at Weetabix have come up with all new Weetabix Chocolate.  I must admit to begin with I really wasn’t sure about the concept, but I have two children (about to become three) and so when Weetabix asked me if I would like to do a review for them I thought it was definitely worth a try.

Weetabix Chocolate box image

My daughter Little Bean is 2 years old and NOT an eater by any stretch of the imagination.  She didn’t start eating mushy solids until she was 10 months and has only really been eating proper solids for 6 months or so now and that is very intermittently.  The first “mushy solids” that I was able to get her to eat was Weetabix and I’m pleased to say that lasted for a good 9-12 months until she got bored of eating it everyday.  I tried her with lots of different cereals but Weetabix was her breakfast of choice.  Then one day she caught sight of big brother’s chocolate cereal and I’ve never been able to get her back to Weetabix since.  That is, until NOW! 

With great thanks to whichever person sat around the table at Weetabix and said, “I think we should make Weetabix Chocolate” I have now been able to convert her back to Weetabix.

Little Bean has never been much a drinker either, so as you can imagine constipation is a bit of a problem for her, which is why I like her to start the day on Weetabix.  It is high in fibre and low in salt, fortified with vitamins and iron and so its great for her little tummy.  New Weetabix Chocolate still contains all the wholegrain goodness but contains half the sugar of the average chocolate flavoured breakfast cereal and has no artificial colours – surely a winner for every parent!

And then we have Curly, Little Bean’s big brother.  He was the first of our brood to try out the new cereal and the results spoke for themselves – no sooner had the bowl been placed in front of him, it was gone.  I hardly had to time to ask him if it tasted good.  He is nearly 9 years old and suddenly has an appetite to rival his Dad so he’s already eating the 3 biscuits per bowl to match.  He said that he particularly likes the chocolate chips as they give the cereal a real chocolate boost.

I thought I would give them a try, just once and then leave the rest of them for the children but actually, I haven’t been able to.  I really liked it!!  Its slightly crumblier than usual Weetabix but this doesn’t detract from its great flavour.

I think its fair to say that Weetabix Chocolate is a tasty revamp of an old family favourite!  For my family it is definitely a winner and will be on my shopping list.

At the moment it is only available in Sainsbury’s but from August it will be available at all major retailers with a suggested retail price of £2.59 for a pack of 24.  Don’t just read what I’ve got to say, go and try it for yourself – you won’t be disappointed!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. mumtoj permalink
    July 27, 2010 9:53 pm

    It’s strange what you miss, we really miss weetabix! they have their own version over here but it tastes very different, (and not in a good way! lol). x Weeabix used to be something I could get J to eat, not anymore!! lol x

    • July 28, 2010 8:45 pm

      Maybe we need to get a campaign going to get it released for you down under! xx

Leave a Reply

