Skip to content

REVIEW: Wilko Nappies, Wipes and Baby Wash

July 28, 2010

When you think of Wilko’s (Wilkinsons Hardware Stores) what do you think of?  Household cleaning products, cheap toiletries, paints and DIY equipment . . . . you get the picture?  I have never really thought about going to Wilko to buy my babies nappies or other baby products but actually they have an expansive range of goods from cotton buds to wipes, to bottles and dummies etc etc.  Wilko asked me if I would like to try out their new range of Nappies, Wipes, Baby Wash and Antibacterial Wipes.  Any parent will know that you should never look at gift horse in the mouth as babies are expensive.

image

When it comes to Nappies I have to say I was initially Pampers all the way until she was about 18 months old but over the last six months as her needs have changed (and I’ve not returned to work so money has been on a budget) I have shopped around a little more on the nappy/wipes front.  My motto is “try something once, if you like it – great, if you don’t – don’t do it/use it again” so I have tried all shops-own brands of nappies/wipes as well as the market leaders.  So far I have been pretty impressed with most of them with the odd few exceptions but honestly I think Wilkos have produced a really good, affordable nappy.  The material is really soft (which along with good absorbency is one of the most important things I look for).  Their design is understated with just a coloured band on the front to distinguish between the sizes and the rest of the nappy is white.  This is particularly good for little girls during the summer months if they are wearing white trousers because you can see all the pattern showing through.

When comparing size they are pretty much the same as most other nappies available on the market, they have good elasticity around the legs and waste which allows for baby/toddler to move around without leaks.  Little Bean isn’t a big drinker so her nappies are never overly wet but the absorbency was good, even through the night and she sleeps a good 12-13 hours (I know I’m spoilt – sorry!). 

image

They come in 5 different sizes – Midi Nappies (3), Maxi Nappies (4) , Maxi Plus (4+), Junior (5) and Extra Large (6) and have ranges of Cosy Dry, Active Fit and Easy Pants – depending on your preference.

The best thing about the Wilkos nappy though is the price, starting at £3.74 per pack or a permanently low price of 2 packs for £7 – which is something not to be sniffed at!

image

The wipes I found were also really good quality, not too thick that you couldn’t pull them out of the packet but not too thin that you ended up shredding them.  They are super soft and fragrance free – which I like as it means there are less chemicals to irritate baby’s skin.  However, they do sell fragranced wipes if you prefer these.  At 97p per pack of 80 wipes, they are very affordable and remain in competition with other supermarket brands. 

The baby wash smells lovely and I have to say has actually made its way into my bathroom as Little Bean has taken a liking to showers at the moment so it means I can steal it.  Being pregnant at the moment I’m all for taking good care of my skin, trying to keep those dreaded stretch marks at bay.  The baby wash leaves my (our) skin feeling really soft and hydrated – though we still use baby lotion but that’s just because I love the smell so much!

The final product which I tested was the antibacterial wipes – being a mummy AND being pregnant I have gone into antibacterial overdrive!  I loved these wipes and had them permanently placed on the side in the kitchen ready to clean up after feeding time at the zoo.  They smelt very “clean” which is always a good thing for cleaning wipes and were thick enough that they didn’t disintegrate the moment you started wiping.   They had good absorbency and would mop up the wettest of spills.  At 77p per pack I thought these were also a really good price.  They came in a handy size pack which fitted nicely into my changing bag for trips out where Little Bean needed to eat in the public high chairs.  And let’s face it, they are rarely clean enough to eat your dinner off!

To round up, I really think that Wilko have done their research when it comes to what a mother wants for her baby, they have produced good quality products at a sensible price.  Ok so the packaging isn’t flamboyant but who needs fancy packaging, it only gets thrown away (and hopefully recycled) anyway!

Pop down to your local Wilkinson’s store or visit their website here and see what bargains you can pick up!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 2:12 pm

    I love Wilko’s have to say have used their wipes lots but never the nappies so will keep them in mind!

    • July 29, 2010 7:03 pm

      They are definitely worth a try and at that price, you won’t have wasted anything if you don’t like them!

  2. mumtoc permalink
    August 3, 2010 7:34 pm

    Sounds good to me! I’ll have a look when I’m next in my local store – but you know what it’s like here, the back of beyond (lol!) so it may take a while for them to stock them.

    Definitely worth a try as the pack price is cheaper than the ones I currently use. I have to say that I’m very pleased with the current brand I use, but will try these to see if I can be converted!!!

    • August 3, 2010 7:51 pm

      As I say in my post, at this price they’re definitely worth a try. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!!

  3. kayleigh permalink
    February 9, 2011 12:51 pm

    Im due anyday now, and have bought a lot of the first size nappies. so fingers crossed that they do there job, otherwise i may have wasted my money.

Leave a Reply

