Skip to content

Some people can be so touchy!

July 30, 2010

Those of you who have read a recent post of mine about BASE jumping and have gone on to read the comments will know that it really struck a cord with one reader who seemed to take serious offence at what I had written.

Throughout the day I took her comments several different ways.  Those of you who know me well, will know that I don’t back away from an argument easily, I stand up for what I believe in and will not be bullied by anyone. 

bbs.chinadaily.com.cn

In this case, I felt that the reader had not “read” my post well and so didn’t understand where I was coming from as throughout the post I was saying that the jumpers are Brave, Stupid and Selfish but she only chose to focus on the Stupid and Selfish comments.  Now I’m pretty sure that in this day and age are allowed to speak our opinions freely.  My post was not intended to cause anyone offence, it was a questioning post asking for other peoples views.

As the programme was being aired on TV, Twitter was getting many many comments on the jumpers, ranging from people being amused to people being annoyed.  I thought writing a post would be a good way to really see what people had deduced from it.  Most of my readers have the same opinion, that its daft and stupid – but then again most of my readers are parents who put family before anything else.  I’m sure if I had directed my post towards only BASE jumpers then I would have had a few more adverse reactions.

I did at one point yesterday think, “I can’t be bothered with blogging if I’m not allowed to say what I think” but that was around the time that I had Little Bean sat on the naughty step for the hundredth time that day so my thought didn’t last long.

At the end of the day, our blogs are our own little space on the web where we can write about pretty much anything we want to.  If people read it and don’t like it, then there is no need for them to return but I have found many like-minded people through the blogging world.  It has become my little bit of escapism from the world of nappies, bottles and endless piles of ironing.  I shall not apologise for thinking that people are mad for wanting to do such extreme sports, just like they are entitled to think that I am mad bringing children into this world.  I haven’t gone in search of their blogs to moan about it.

jiboneus.com

Apparently, bringing children into this world is selfish and stupid because it is already overpopulated.  Yes it is, but if we all have that same opinion then humankind would cease to exist and we’d all be “up the creek without a paddle” so to speak.  This just goes to prove that we all need differing opinions to keep the balance of the world right!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. mumtoj permalink
    July 30, 2010 10:27 am

    Quite agree! 🙂

  2. July 30, 2010 10:43 am

    Keep going! Stick up for what you believe in, never bow to numpties (whatever their opinion) and enjoy your right to freedom of speech!
    Clued Up Dads (http://cluedupdads.blogspot.com)
    p.s: I saw the programme, bored me stupid!

  3. July 30, 2010 10:58 am

    Personally, if I read a blog that isnt at least controversial in some part of what it says then I think the blogger has maybe not explored the subject fully. A more sensible approrach for the unhappy reader would have been for this person to write an alternative blog from a base jumpers perspective thus giving people who currently have no opinion both sides of the argument. If anything Sabina, this should inspire you to perhaps me more controversial with some blogs, it would certainly impact the levels of response…

  4. July 30, 2010 11:27 am

    Your blog. Your space. Your view. If people don’t like it they can always click away. Keep going and ignore the naysayers! x

  5. July 31, 2010 3:16 pm

    Oh I SOOOO agree! Having seen my blog views shoot up to over 3000 in one day due to mumsnet members getting in an arse and leaving me abusive messages I know the feeling of, “why the hell cant I express my own opinion?” and “Are they reading what my readers are reading because theres two different views going on here?”
    Some people *sigh*

    • August 2, 2010 11:42 am

      That is surely the point of your own blog – its somewhere for you to express your own opinions. I liked a comment I received last week, if people feel so strongly against your post why not go away and write an alternative post on their own blog to link back to yours. Give readers two sides to the story! As you say some people *sigh* x

  6. August 1, 2010 10:51 pm

    Have to say I totally agree with everyone else. Your blog, your space they don’t have to read it let them move on! Your blog is great and I always read xx

Leave a Reply

